Skip to main content


Showing posts from 2010

37: Navadurga - The nine forms of Goddess Durga

Well, it is that time of the year – beginning Autumn – when festivities begin and the world seems alright. So the navaratri began, with Durga Puja, followed by Dussera. While I was visiting some of the Durga Pujas in Delhi and Gurgaon, I saw in one puja pandal, the nine manifestations of the Goddess.
Now for most of you who follow Navaratri or Durga Puja, this may be common knowledge, but since I don’t follow anything at all except my own free will, this was informative. And since I believe there are more such people out there, I thought of writing about it. I also found the imagery around the nine forms very interesting.

The nine names are:

Śhailaputrī, Brahmachāriṇī, Chandrakaṇṭā, Kuṣhmāṇḍā, Skandamātā, Kātyāyanī, Kālarātrī, Mahāgaurī and Siddhidātrī

These nine forms are actually based on the three major forms that mother Goddess Durga manifests herself into: Saraswati, Lakshmi and Kali (Parvati). These three are consorts of the Hindu trinity – Brahma, Vishnu and Rudra (Maheshwara).

In s…